If you are someone looking to start a construction or construction business in Michigan, you should get a Michigan Builder License.
Getting your hands on Michigan building permits is a tedious process.
There are a few important steps to follow in order to obtain a license. It starts with completing your Michigan Builder license classes and clearing your exams to choose the license type you should apply for.
Here we offer you a simple and clear guide to everything you need to get your license.
Michigan Builder License:
This license is for anyone wishing to do construction work in Michigan. In detail, under Article 24 of Public Act 299 of 1980, anyone involved in the construction of residential buildings to build a business structure should be in possession of this Michigan Builder License.
Even those who repair these structures, changes to the building and improvements require this license.
Requirements to get the Builder license:
- To get the license, the builder must do the following:
- Your age must be at least 18 years.
- You should have a valid driver’s license.
- You must complete a 60 hour pre-licensing course.
- You should pass the exam to become a residential and exchange entrepreneur.
- You should pay all registration and license fees.
Above all, passing the exam is a must; Using appropriate Michigan Builder license classes will help with this.
It lasts 60 hours and has a wide variety of topics. Each subject lasts at least 6 hours. The topics are:
1) The first 6 hours are about corporate management, valuation and job costing.
2) Design and Business Science will take the next 6 hours
3) The next 6 hours are dedicated to risk management, contracts and liability.
4) The Michigan Residential Code
5) MIOSHA construction safety standards are 6 hours
6) The remaining 18 hours will be used for other topics on the approved course list.
There are many Michigan Builders license classes are available online for your pre-licensing courses.
Clearing license check of the contractor:
After completing the pre-licensing course, you will need to take the contractor exam. In Michigan, your contractor exam will be conducted through PSI exams. When applying for this test, applicants should provide a copy of their driver’s license or other form of ID. You must pay $ 195 with the application or at the time of the exam. The fee may vary based on the section in your Michigan Builder license. The number of the section that you have to occupy changes for each license.
Get your license:
After completing your exams, you will receive your builder’s license as a single dwelling builder. With this license you can start construction as a sole proprietorship under your name. However, you cannot use this license for companies or partnerships.
Registration with the Michigan Treasury Department:
After you have obtained your license and set up your business, it is important that you register your business and get insurance as well. You can register your business online with the Michigan Treasury Department. Insurance is more responsible and more important.
Michigan Builder License is a must have to work with a contractor. Without your license, you cannot work on any project with a total amount of $ 600 or more.
If an unlicensed contractor is required to appear in court, they will face charges of misdemeanor, which can result in a six-month prison term or a fine.
Work peacefully with a proper license based on law and order. Obtaining a license is easy when you select the correct Michigan Builder license class.